You are here

Jefferson Caffery Research Award

The Jefferson Caffery Research Award was established in 1967 by Ambassador and Mrs. Jefferson Caffery. Ambassador Caffery was born in Lafayette and attended SLII in its early years. His distinguished career in diplomacy is outstanding both in length of service and in the importance of the posts he held on every continent. The award recognizes outstanding scholarly research utilizing primary source materials held in the Special Collections areas of Edith Garland Dupré Library.

The winner of the annual Jefferson Caffery Research Award receives $500. The award is sponsored by Edith Garland Dupré Library and the University Library Committee.

Visit our Caffery Award: Call for Student Papers Guide for complete information.

Call for Student Papers 2021

Deadline for submissions of papers: February 28, 2021
Winner will be announced: May 2021

Call for Student Papers Guide

2020 Award Winner

Jessica Barton has been named the winner of the 2020 Jefferson Caffery Research Award. Her paper, "Ambassador Jefferson Caffery (1886-1974): Latin American Posts" focuses on Ambassador Caffery's services in El Salvador, Colombia, Cuba and Brazil. Ms. Barton utilized the Jefferson Caffery Papers (Coll. 45) housed in the University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection at Edith Garland Dupré Library.

Dr. James Savage, Interim Editorial Director in the Office of Communications and Marketing, has written a story about Ms. Barton's award-winning paper.

Photo Caption: Jessica Barton is winner of this year’s Jefferson Caffery Research Award. The prize’s namesake is at right. (Photo at left courtesy of Jessica Barton. Photo at right is courtesy of Special Collections at UL Lafayette).


Special Collections
Edith Garland Dupré Library
400 E St Mary Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70503
Room 314
(337) 482-6031