|
|
| |
|
| Library Home · Ask a Librarian · Hours · What’s New · Comments |
| |
| Reference Online Center · Reference Faculty · Reference Policy |
| U.S. Government Information |
| |
| |
| Reference Online Center |
| |
| Descriptions of Databases |
| |
Got Questions?
For assistance with your research,
the reference librarians can advise you in person (hours
of operation), on the phone (337.482.6030), and through our Ask
Reference service. |
| |
Remote access to electronic
databases:
Most of the databases can
be accessed from off-campus. If prompted, enter a UCS
CLID and password to access a database. To obtain a UCS CLID
and password, faculty, staff, and students may visit the Help
Desk. |
| |
| A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z |
| |
| A |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ABI/INFORM |
|
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Includes The Wall Street Journal. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Abstracts in Anthropology |
|
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Academic Search Complete |
|
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ACM Digital Library (formerly ACM Guide to Computing Literature) |
|
The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. The Guide contains more than 750,000 citations from 3,000+ publishers, including ACM, covering: books, journal articles, conference proceedings, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, and technical reports. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| African
American Newspapers, 1827-1998 |
|
Searchable American newspapers enable
users to explore America's past. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| African American Studies Center (AASC) |
|
The AASC provides students and scholars with online access to the finest
reference resources in African American studies. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| AGRICOLA |
|
This bibliographic database provides more than 2.5 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Coverage for this database dates back to 1979. AGRICOLA offers a variety of source types related to agriculture. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Alt HealthWatch |
|
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| America: History & Life |
|
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is a bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| America's
Historical Newspapers: Louisiana State
Package |
|
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ArchiVision |
|
ArchiVision: an architecture photo archive, currently holds over 50,000 images in the Education Archive. The ArchiVision Educational Archive was created for in-depth study and analysis by students of architecture and art. ArchiVision is the image resource for architecture, landscapes, public art and design. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Art Full Text |
|
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information
featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating
back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals
dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals,
as
well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles
and
art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database
covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film,
and
architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Art Index Retrospective |
|
Art Index Retrospective: 1929 -1984 provides users access to
over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative,
and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly
600
publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over
25,000 book reviews. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
ArtSEARCH
[Library Only] |
|
ArtSEARCH, the national employment bulletin for the arts can be searched by category, state, and date. The database is updated every 3 business days with up to 1000 listings available daily. Find positions in theatres and performing arts centers, universities, colleges and schools, dance companies, museums, and other arts organizations. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ARTstor |
|
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
|
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Arts and Humanities Citation Index |
|
A comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the arts and humanities. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
|
|
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is the only comprehensive
American guide to the current literature of architecture and design.
The index covers international, scholarly
and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional
associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial
publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin
America and Australia. |
|
No |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| B |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Background Notes |
|
These handy guides provide information on a country's leaders, politics, economy, and relations with the U.S. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Bayou State Periodical Index |
|
A subject guide to some 50 periodicals published in Louisiana on topics of particular interest to the people of this state. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Bibliography of the History of Art |
|
This data available on the Getty Web site comprises
two databases: BHA and IBA. BHA (Bibliography of the History
of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007;
the Getty Web version
includes all records with abstracts in French or English and
all subject terms in French and English. IBA (International Bibliography
of the
History of Art) covers 2008 and part of 2009; the Getty Web version
includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject
terms in French and English |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| La Bibliotheque des Lettres |
|
A French bibliographic database that contains the text of eight major French literary collections. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) |
|
This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Biological Abstracts |
|
Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a complete collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. This database provides users with easy access to information published in virtually every life science discipline. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Book Collection: Nonfiction |
|
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries, and includes general interest, high interest, leveled full text articles on civics, social studies, science, careers, health, sports, adventure, hobbies, technology, biographies and much more. This database contains informative abstracts and full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Books in Print |
|
Bowker’s Global Books in Print is an authoritative and comprehensive database that provides publication data for books, e-books, audios, and videos. The global version covers monographs from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, New Zealand and South Africa. It contains bibliographic information for nearly nine million titles including in-print, out-of-print, on-demand, and forthcoming titles. In addition, Global Books in Print includes over 10,000 author biographies, 1,200,000 annotations, 600,000 cover images, 400 Bestseller and Awards Lists, and 800,000 full-text reviews from 14 sources including Library Journal and Choice. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Business Source Complete |
|
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| C |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
CCH Internet Tax Research Network
|
|
(see Intelliconnect) |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Chigago Manual of Style |
|
The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. The online reference covers the 16th and 15th editions. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Chronicle of
Higher Education
[Library Only] |
|
Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; and vibrant discussion forums. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
CINAHL Plus
with Full Text |
|
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Cochrane Library |
|
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain
different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform
healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides
information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. The seven
databases are:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
About the Cochrane Collaboration |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Communication & Mass Media Complete |
|
Provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 770 journals, with full text for 450-plus titles. Also features 5,400 author profiles. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Compendex |
|
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over seven million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Computer Science Index |
|
Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 6,500 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Computer Source |
|
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Counseling and Therapy in Video |
|
CTIV provides videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. It includes reenactments and footage of actual therapy sessions, as well as contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops filmed at conferences and seminars worldwide. |
|
Yes
|
| |
|
|
|
|
CQ
Researcher |
|
Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic—more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. The database goes back to 1923 and also affords immediate access to the newest CQ Researcher reports as they are published. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
CQ
Weekly |
|
Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce, and politics. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Credo Literati |
|
Use Credo Literati to search through major reference sources
such as online dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations,
and bilingual dictionaries. In addition to Literati resources,
content pages also include news, images, videos, links to full-text
articles and other resources in EBSCO, JSTOR, Gale Cengage and
Google Books. It even has a crossword solver and measurement conversions. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text |
|
Includes full text for more than 200 journals, magazines, and books. Subjects include: criminal law and procedure, legal medicine, corrections and prisons, probation and parole, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic science, history of crime, Homeland Security, terrorism, alcohol and drug addiction, gambling, family studies, domestic abuse, sexual abuse, race and class issues, and victims of crime. Scope is international.
|
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| D |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Daily
Advertiser (Lafayette, LA newspaper) |
|
Covers local and regional news from Lafayette, Louisiana. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Deutsches Wöerterbuch |
|
Deutsches Wörterbuch is one of the most important etymological dictionaries of the German language. The title, literally translated to English, means "German dictionary." It was started by the Grimm Brothers in 1838. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Dissertations & Theses A&I |
|
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Dissertations & Theses @ UL Lafayette |
|
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at UL Lafayette. Some full text is included. |
|
Part |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| E |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| eBooks on EBSCOhost |
|
Provides access to an extensive collection of e-book titles online. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| EBSCOhost Databases |
|
List of all EBSCO databases subscribed to by Dupré Library. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Economia y Negocios |
|
Economia y Negocios is produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This Spanish language database, which focuses on business and economics, consists of more than 60,000 bibliographic records. Coverage dates back to the early 1980s and includes over 200 periodicals published in Latin America and Spain. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Engineering Village 2
(Compendex) |
|
The Internet version of Engineering Index, the world's premier source of engineering abstracts. It includes over 5 million abstracts from EI Compendex Web (CPX Web), full text Research articles, patents, standards and specifications, handbooks, and Current Trends in Engineering. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Environment Index |
|
Contains more than 1,590,000 records from 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 960 active core titles) as well as 100 monographs. Environment Index also features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles will be provided for 3,000 authors in the discipline. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ERIC |
|
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ERIC Website |
|
Provides free access to over 107,000 full-text non-journal documents via the ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) website. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 |
|
This database contains more than 32,000 bibliographic entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers many topics, including European exploration, Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery. Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. |
|
No |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| F |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| French Business Source |
|
See Vente et Gestion |
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| Fuente Academica |
|
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia |
|
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| G |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Gale
Virtual Reference Library |
|
A database of encyclopedias and
specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| GeoRef |
|
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| GreenFILE |
|
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. |
|
Part |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Grove Art Online |
|
See Oxford Art Online |
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| Grove Music Online |
|
See Oxford Music Online |
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| H |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Health e-Links |
|
Funded by grants from the National Library of Medicine and the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in Shreveport, Health e-Links provides directory information and links to health related sites in Louisiana and nation wide. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
Health Source: Nursing/
Academic Edition |
|
This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
History Reference
Center |
|
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Hoover's Company Profiles
(formerly Hoover's Company Records) |
|
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Hospitality & Tourism Index |
|
Hospitality & Tourism Index is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database contains more than 500,000 records from more than 500 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Hotel &
Travel Index |
|
The industry's most comprehensive hotel directory with more than 41,000 hotel, motel, resort and inn listings worldwide. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| I |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
IEEE Xplore Digital Library (formerly IEEE/IET
Electronic Library |
|
All Journals from ASPP, all proceedings from Proceedings Order Package, all IEEE Content and a full backfile to 1988. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) |
|
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Ingentaconnect |
|
An index to journals in all disciplines, but predominately science and social science. Provides document delivery service. |
|
Part |
| |
|
|
|
|
Intelliconnect
(formerly known as OmniTax School Library and CCH Internet Tax Research Network) |
|
Current and complete Federal and State Tax information. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts |
|
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (formerly Microcomputer Abstracts) provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more. |
|
Linked |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| J |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
JCR
Journal Citation Reports |
|
Journal citation statistics used to determine which journals have the most research influence at the journal level. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| JSTOR |
|
The library’s subscription to JSTOR includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII Collections. The Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of an multi-disciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| K |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| L |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Learning Express Library |
|
A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help users succeed on academic or licensing tests. Offers immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results. |
|
N/A |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Legal Collection |
|
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Lexi-PALS Drug Guide |
|
A database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides vital education on medications for patients. The approach for each pamphlet is to present each medication in an easy to follow and understand question-and-answer format. The database consists of over 1,450 medication and natural product leaflets, with an additional 600 Spanish language leaflets representing the most subscribed and commonly used medications. The database is updated monthly. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| LexisNexis (Academic) |
|
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
(LISTA) |
|
Formerly Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA). EBSCO Publishing continues ISTA’s renowned coverage of information science and significantly increases the coverage of library science. 149 ISTA titles are upgraded to Core coverage, and 121 new periodicals are included. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| L'Ile |
|
Le Centre de documentation virtuel sur la litterature et les ecrivains quebecois. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Literary Reference Center |
|
A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes MasterPlots. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Literature Criticism Online |
|
Full-text access to Thomson Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), and Literature Criticism 1400-1800 (LC). |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Literature Resource Center |
|
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Louisiana Biography and Obituary Index |
|
The Louisiana Biography and Obituary Index references obituaries and death notices published in New Orleans newspapers from 1804-1972 and biographical information published in older Louisiana collective biographies. The original index, housed in the Louisiana Division of New Orleans Public Library, is an alphabetical card file of more than 650,000 names. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| LOUISiana Digital Library |
|
An online library that provides electronic access to unique historical collections from Louisiana libraries, museums, and other repositories. Contains over 144,000 digital photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and other reserouces that document Louisiana history and culture. |
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| M |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MarciveWeb DOCS |
|
The Catalog of US Government Publications in web based format. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
MAS Ultra
School Edition |
|
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides nearly 550 full text pamphlets, 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MathSciNet |
|
Database providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MedicLatina |
|
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MEDLINE |
|
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Mental Measurements Yearbook |
|
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Military & Government Collection |
|
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MLA Bibliography |
|
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| MLA Directory of Periodicals |
|
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Music Index |
|
Music Index provides indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. It offers comprehensive coverage for more than 480 periodicals and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. |
|
Partial |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| N |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
NetLibrary Collection III
|
|
see eBooks on EBSCOhost |
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
NewsBank:
America's News |
|
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national
sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse
source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals,
newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific
issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local
reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the
country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural
activities and people. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Newspaper Source |
|
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| O |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
OmniTax School Library
|
|
(see Intelliconnect) |
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| OnePetro |
|
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Oxford Art Online |
|
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Oxford English Dictionary |
|
Contains the complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Oxford Islamic Studies Online |
|
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars on the history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture of Islam. (Funded by an American Library Association grant. Subscription expires on February 28, 2014.) |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Oxford Music Online |
|
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd. ed. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Oxford Reference |
|
Find a wealth of facts, figures, timelines, definitions, and translations from 308 academic reference titles. More than 9 million entries include in-depth, scholarly articles and 13,000 quotations. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| P |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
Philosopher’s
Index
Purchased with STEP funds |
|
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative,
author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas
of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes
journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to
an anthology, and book reviews. |
|
Linked |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Primary Search |
|
Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Professional Development Collection |
|
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Project Muse |
|
Provides full-text, online access to humanities and
social sciences journals. Dupré Library subscribes
to the Standard Collection. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ProQuest Databases |
|
List of all ProQuest databases subscribed to by Dupré Library. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source |
|
Offers full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection |
|
This database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| PsycINFO |
|
PsycINFO (R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| PubMed |
|
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. |
|
No |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| Q |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| R |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Regional Business News |
|
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, including Greater Baton Rouge Business Report and New Orleans City Business. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Religion and Philosophy Collection |
|
This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| S |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Science and Technology Collection |
|
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Science Citation Index |
|
A comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the sciences accessed through Web of Science. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| SciFinder |
|
[Library Use Only for most users] ULL Faculty and Graduate Students: Email Reference for registration instructions.
SciFinder is an online version of Chemical Abstracts
(CAS), designed especially for use by students and faculty.
CAS is the most comprehensive database of references
to the chemical, chemical engineering, allied sciences
and patent literature. Subscription allows for
1 user at a time. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Scribner Writers Series |
|
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Serials Directory |
|
Provides up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and pricing for over 178,500 US and international periodicals. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution Research Information System |
|
Search the Smithsonian Art Online for 1.7 million records, with links to 138,000 images, video and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian libraries, archives, museums, and specialized research units. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Social
Explorer |
|
Social Explorer is an online research tool
designed to provide quick and easy access to
current and historical census data and demographic
information. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Social Sciences Citation Index |
|
A comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the social sciences accessed through Web of Science. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| SocINDEX
with Full Text |
|
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most
comprehensive and highest quality sociology research
database. The database features more than 1,600,000
records with subject headings from a 15,600 term
sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts
and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full
Text contains full text for 253 "core" coverage
journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage
journals. This database also includes full text
for 547 books and monographs, and full text for
6,711 conference papers. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| SPORTDiscus with Full Text |
|
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive
source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals,
providing full text for 550 journals indexed
in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains
full text for many of the most used
journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo.
With full-text coverage dating back to 1985,
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the
definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine
literature. Subscription allows for
4 simultaneous users. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Statistical Abstract of the United States |
|
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive collection of statistics covering the social, political, and economic environment of the United States. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| T |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Teacher Reference Center |
|
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. |
|
Partial |
| |
|
|
|
|
| ThomasNet |
|
ThomasNet.com combines the vast expertise and databases of Thomas Register and Thomas Regional with the power and speed of the latest search technology. Searchers can explore over 650,000 manufacturers, distributors and service providers; and specify and design using millions of downloadable CAD drawings. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Twayne Authors Series |
|
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| U |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| UpToDate |
|
UpToDate is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality, and based on the latest evidence. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| V |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
Vente et Gestion (formerly
French Business Source) |
|
Provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| W |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Web of Knowledge |
|
A comprehensive index to over 8,000 of the top scientific and scholarly research journals in the world. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| WorldCat (OCLC) |
|
Cataloging information for books and other materials from libraries around the world. |
|
No |
| |
|
|
|
|
| World Development Indicators |
|
World Development Indicators is the most widely available data on the world economy, covering more than 800 economic and social indicators for 153 countries. |
|
Yes |
| |
|
|
|
|
| World History Collection |
|
World History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. |
|
Yes |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| X |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| Y |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| Z |
| |
| Database |
|
Description |
|
Full
Text |
| |
|
|
|
|
| Zoological Record |
|
Animal biology and biodiversity
research literature. |
|
No |
|
| |
| GO TO TOP |
| |
| |
Reference Department
(337.482.6030; reference@louisiana.edu) |
| |
| |
| UL Lafayette |
| |
| |
Document last revised
Tuesday, April 9, 2013 4:18 PM
hcp |
| |
© Copyright 2007 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Edith Garland Dupré Library, PO Box 40199, Lafayette LA 70504
Circulation Desk: 337/482-6025 · Reference Desk: 337/482-6030
Location: 400 E Saint Mary Blvd · E-Mail: reference@louisiana.edu |
| |